Year of construction: 1913
In operation: 73 years until the works were shut down
Coming from Völklingen Station, locomotives pulled the heavily laden ore wagons into the interior of the burden shed. The ore, sorted according to type, was offloaded into the various silos. The track on which the raw materials were transported into the works is preserved to this day. It can be recognised more easily from the maintenance platforms, which visitors can now walk on and which offer an impressive panoramic view of the shed.
With the construction of the burden shed in 1913, the architects broke new ground. The industrial building was one of the first constructions of its size to be erected using reinforced concrete.
After the closure of the Völklingen Ironworks, the task was to find a new use for this striking building with its 3,000 m2 of floor space. The Ferrodrom moved into the basement in 2004.
moved in. The bunker pockets, in which the valuable iron ores and sinter were stored during operating hours, were connected by cuts in the side walls and a unique exhibition space was created. It was opened with the exhibition The "11th of September" with works by members of the Magnum photo agency.